The Society is comprised of leading health communication professionals across various industries, including academia, non-profits, government, and the private sector. Our Steering Committee is actively involved in Society infrastructure and regularly interacts with our members.

Society Leadership

Diane Brodalski, Interim Executive Director

Shahd Husein, MPH, Communication Manager

Chris L. Cugini, MPH, Community Manager

Jay Bernhardt, Founder and Steering Committee Chair


2020-2021 Elected Leadership

Terry Savage, President

Michael Grela, Vice President

Shelly Spoeth, Member at Large

Learn more about our elected leadership.


Steering Committee Members

Erin Norvell
Digital Director,
CDC Foundation

Tony Foleno
SVP, Strategy & Evaluation
Member, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Council
The Ad Council

Michael Grela
Executive Vice President
Head of Reputation and Social Impact
Evoke KYNE

Nancy Harrington
Professor, Department of Communication
Director, Health Communication Research Collaborative
Associate Dean for Research, College of Communication and Information
University of Kentucky

Ashani Johnson-Turbes
Public Policy Research Director
Global Public Policy & Government Relations
McDonald's Corporation
Mike Mackert
Provost's Teaching Fellow

Director, Center for Health Communication
Stan Richards School of Advertising & Public Relations
University of Texas at Austin

Claudia Parvanta
Professor, Director Florida Prevention Research Center
College of Public Health
University of South Florida

Danielle Bartolo Perrell
Analytical Lead

Terry Savage
Vice President

Shelly Spöeth
Principal Associate
Abt Associates

Rachel Tyree
Communications Director
LA County Department of Public Health

Josh West
Associate Professor
College of Life Sciences, BYU


Advisory Board Members

Candice Watkins Robinson
Vice President, Health
Hager Sharp

Pierce Nelson
Vice President, Communications
CDC Foundation

Amelia Burke-Garcia
Program Area Director, Public Health

Molly Rose Walker
Vice President, Unified Partnerships

The Society would like to recognize and honor Dr. Tim Edgar, who was an inaugural member of the steering committee and founding member of the organization. Dr. Edgar's passing was a great loss to his colleagues, the Society, and entire field of public health.